I have had a thing for chairs for awhile now.  I don’t know what it is.  Maybe it’s because there are endless varieties of chairs.  Maybe it’s because when you have lots of chairs everyone has a place to sit and make themselves at home.  
But lately I’d noticed a couple of chairs that didn’t have a place anymore.  They were looking tired and worn out and they had cracks going through the seats.  Not the kind of chairs you want to offer to your guests, for sure!

They were destined for the next donation drop off.
But then all this Creative Planter talk got me to thinking….

About what I could add to these chippy chairs to turn them into some fun garden planters.

I removed the cracked and broken seats and screwed the chains of some old wire hanging baskets right to the seat frames. 

I originally tried to cut a circle out of the seat top BUT the seat was seriously cracked and it just came apart while I was cutting…so this ended up being the best solution.  Work with what you’ve got, right!

I quickly popped off the seat of the 2nd chair by turning it upside down and hammering it off.

Then I lined the wire baskets with some of this green moss (grown right here in The Pacific NW!!!).

They also sell liners for these wire baskets BUT they were out at the store I went to.  I was so determined that nothing would thwart my chair planting project today that I just grabbed the moss and moved on!

I also grabbed some shade happy geraniums, some quick growing vines and those adorable little “mega-white” Bacopa flowers that are great filler in hanging pots.  Just enough to fill my baskets.  I know these plants will need room to grow and mature so I didn’t want to over do it.
My first finished chair planter!
Here are both chairs together with a cute little girl playing peek-a-boo behind the tree.  🙂

I’m so excited to watch them mature and fill in.  The vines I bought said on the insert that they are good with part part shade and are fast growing.  Just what these planters need.

I’m hoping they will become big bushy mounds of flowers growing over the seat area and cascading down the sides just like the big beautiful hanging baskets.
I can already picture it!
They make a sweet little vignette in this corner of our yard.  
We are completely surrounded by fences and sheds and other people’s houses so it’s nice to have something pretty to distract from all of that “fenced-in” feeling.  

For more fun Creative Planter Ideas check out this Google Hangout hosted by Kelly Elko of Eclectically Vintage and some other talented bloggers.

Enjoy your Spring Gardens!

Sherry
Leave a Reply

